Skip to content

Supervisory Board

Statistics Denmark is managed by a supervisory board with the National Statistician in the chair, and it includes seven other members. The supervisory board establishes its own rules of procedure and appoints one of its members as vice-chair. By law, the supervisory board chaired by the National Statistician is responsible for the following:

  • The overall strategy and financial management of Statistics Denmark, while the National Statistician has the sole responsibility for defining the professional criteria for development, collection, compilation and dissemination of Statistics Denmark’s statistical output.
  • The professional independence of the official statistics and of the institution of Statistics Denmark.
  • Consideration and decisions in matters of interest to the strategic management of the institution, including work programme, statistical programme and budget. Decisions as to the extent and ways of collecting data from the business community, including for the purpose of implementing EU and national legislation. In this way, the supervisory board is responsible for the reporting task imposed by Statistics Denmark on the business community.
  • Via the work programme and statistical programme, decisions about the data that public authorities and institutions must submit to Statistics Denmark.

Members of the Board

Birgitte Anker (chair), National Statistician 

Laila Mortensen (vice-chair), CEO of Industriens Pension

Lars Andersen, Director of the Economic Council of the Labour Movement

Mads Bryde Andersen, Professor at the University of Copenhagen

Anne Lawaetz Arhnung

Ida Sofie Jensen, Group Executive Director of the Danish Association of the Pharmaceutical Industry

David Dreyer Lassen, Professor at the University of Copenhagen

Rikke Hougaard Zeberg, Director of Digitalisation


Bettina Steen Brix
Phone: +45 39 17 39 02